Migration and Deleted Messages
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Migration and Deleted Messages

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1

    Migration and Deleted Messages

    Hi and thank you for this awesome app. I have successfully done an initial migration of data (took 2 days for the initial restore). After that, as a test I ran a smart scan on the source (currently live) Zimbra server, Re-Synced the backup directory with the one on the destination server (using Rsync), then ran the restore on the destination. It of course skipped files that already existed and added new ones. The issue I have is with messages that have been deleted (purposely) during the time AFTER the initial backup and BEFORE the re-sync. Those files are still present on the destination server after the updated restore.

    Is there a way of having Zextras Backup also remove files that have been deleted purposly on the source server? I would hate to have to tell people they need to re-delete all the messages they already deleted over the past week.


    Thank you again.

  2. #2
    ZeXtras Community Manager ZeXtras Employee Cine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2,356
    Hello Harvey77,
    welcome to the forums!

    The Import Backup feature of ZeXtras Backup only adds new items to the mailboxes and doesn't perform any delete operation on the imported mailbox as the item mapping is performed by ZeXtras Backup itself without querying Zimbra about the mailbox content.
    Right now replicating deletions to the destination server would be way to risky and time consuming compared to the benefits that it would bring, but I think that this will change after ZeXtras Suite 2.0 is released (no ETA)...

    Have a nice day,
    Cine

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •